What a Wonderful World

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

Batismo de Renan e Mônica

I love being a missionary.

I feel like I often don´t have the necessary words to express the joy that comes from dedicating our live to the Lord.

This week was fantastic.

Renan and Mônica (the couple that we met asking for a cup of water who “just happen” to be the next door neighbors of an awesome member family in our ward) were baptized on Sunday. Meeting, teaching, and baptizing this family has been was of the most sacred experiences of my mission. I felt the Spirit from the moment we passed in front of their house until even now as I reflect on their faith.

Just to give a summary:

  • For more than 8 months in my mission I have been praying to find a family that would enter into the temple and be sealed one year after the baptism.
  • For more than a year, the next door neighbors of Renan and Mônica had been praying that they could help a family in their street to accept the gospel.
  • For more than 3 years, Mônica had been praying that Renan´s heart would be softened and he would accept the gospel of Jesus Christ (Mônica was a member of an evangelical church).
IMG_0157

When our paths collided, God could finally answer all of our prayers. It was then that my companion and I felt that we should ask for a cup of water from a random house in the street. And so we obeyed. And Renan opened the door and gave us water. And we taught quickly about the Restoration and he felt something and invited us back. When we returned the next day, Mônica burst into tears as she shared with us that Renan had never accepted an invitation from anyone to talk about God. We began teaching them and the spirit changed their hearts. As we taught the Plan of Salvation, Mônica said, “STOP! I need to call my sister. She needs to hear this. Then her sister came over and we began teaching her. Sundaymorning before the baptism, Mônica went to her other church (next door to her house) to tell the Preacher/best friend that she would never return. I am amazed by the faith of this family. At church, Mônica cried from the beginning opening hymn of Sacrament Meeting until the closing hymn of the baptism. Even Renan couldn´t hold back the tears (but he tried  ).

I know that God answers our prayers (in his timing). I know that the Gospel is on the Earth to bless families. I know that the Spirit speaks to us.

There were about a thousand other great things that happened this week, but I feel like this story encapsulates the spirit of the week.

I love you all.

Até mais!

IMG_0159