Batismo e Casamento!!!

This week I saw the effects of the POWER OF FAITH.

Our investigator that we “dropped” five weeks ago because she was working A LOT (We didn´t really drop her, we were just waiting for the day she got home from work because she was traveling) returned found us in the street and said “When is the next baptismal service? ” She read the Book of Mormon and the book Gospel Principles every day when she was out working. Also, alone, she bought Cevada (substitute coffee that is made from barley), she stopped drinking coffee, and left her boyfriend because she knew he would not let her keep the law of chastity. So she was baptized on Sunday. She even took a woman she met at the bus stop to the baptismal service. It really was a miracle.

Baptism

We also found a family of 6 that everyone is AWESOME. I love this family. Their names are Jose Luis, Mary (mother and father), Claudia, Carlos, Carina, and Carol. When we teach them, it seems like they already know everything! They got super excited when we taught the Restoration and they said, “This makes so much sense. There has to be a living prophet on Earth today. Every time we teach them I just grin like an idiot because they are so good. Actually, I´ve been doing that a lot lately. I mean, I just get so happy when the Spirit touches peoples hearts and they are prepared and receptive to receive it that my body can´t contain the joy anymore and it tries to leave my body through my face. Literally, last week our investigator asked me, “Why are you smiling so much?” My response was, “because I´m so happy that you can feel the same things that I have felt”. I definitely understand this scripture from Doctrine and Covenants:

And if it so be that you should labor all your days in crying repentance unto this people, and bring, save it be one soul unto me, how great shall be your joy with him in the kingdom of my Father!

And now, if your joy will be great with one soul that you have brought unto me into the kingdom of my Father, how great will be your joy if you should bring many souls unto me!

It is such a joy to teach people that are willing to sacrifice to know that the church is true and to be baptized. I have seen in these past few months the importance of our willingness to SACRIFICE. Repentace is a sacrifice. It isn´t easy to change our “jeito de ser” (our personality) and our habits and our lives. But it is exactly what Christ asks of us. I have learned that is is a JOY to sacrifice. Sometimes I just want to yell at people and tell them, “Don´t you understand how much happier you will be if you give up your laziness to go to church?! Don´t you understand how much happier you will be if you stop smoking that ONE cigarette per day?!” But many times people don´t understand. Only the spirit can motivate them to change.

Also, Alex and Aline got married on Saturday. It was awesome. However, because of all the stress of the accidents and weeks in the hospital and wedding prep and everything that was happening in their life, Alex gave in to one of his old habits, so we will have to help him to stop before they can be baptized.

I know that our Savior Jesus Christ lives. His gospel is so good. During my mission I have learned what Christ meant when he said that he is the “Living Water”. That when we partake of him, we will not hunger or thirst more. I love being a missionary.

Have a great week! TENHAM UMA ÓTIMA SEMANA!

Questions and Comments Here

