Passing the “Dias”

Kyle in Field

My new companion is Elder Dias (that means “days” in English). He is awesome. He is from Belém, Pará, and has been a member of the church for two years. He’s had four months in his mission, and we are learning A LOT about our area together. We only know a few of the members, but that is the joy of “whitewashing” an area. I actually love “whitewashing” areas, but it does come with difficulties. Our area is also a long way from a lot of things. There is no bank in our Zone, and our area doesn´t have a LanHouse (internet café) or a lot of other common necessities. We have to take the bus everyday to go to lunch and to go to church Sunday. We have to spend a LOT of our money in transit. But, the members are good and they don´t let us starve =). I think I said last week that this ward just divided 4 months ago. There are a lot of joys and a lot of challenges.

I can´t and won´t ever believe how quickly the time passes. General Conference (the last of my mission) has come and gone. And it was wonderful. The only sad part was that we missed most of the first session. We only heard Elder Perry´s talk, because the sound system burnt out in our chapel and the projector was having problems, too. And when I say that it burnt out, I´m not kidding. The sound went out and the chapel filled up with electric smoke. Everyone left the church running to catch the session in another stake. But we, being patient (and not wanting to leave our investigators) stayed. About 20 minutes later it was reasonably fixed and we were able to watch the rest of the sessions.

3 things I learned:

1. We need to have personal testimony, conversion, and worthiness NOW. And if we don´t have one of these three things, we don´t need to pretend we do. We just need to obtain them.

2. The family and marriage are SACRED, and we must do everything in our power to support and protect them. If we don´t do everything we can to create a gospel-centered home, our family will not be protected.

3. We cannot give up on the ones we love. Sometimes we can´t force blessings upon them. Sometimes we need to wait, watch, and pray.

Also, RM doesn´t mean Retired Mormon 🙂

I was impressed by the faith of some of our investigators, who made the relatively long and expensive trip to the stake center to watch conference, even though they had small (and VERY VERY ROWDY) children and are out of work. Faith allows God to act his miracles in our life.

Sometimes I get frustrated because I feel like I am working as hard as I can to be a “profitable servant” but nothing is coming together. I often feel that I have all the right intentions but am incredibly incapable to bring about the results that the Lord expects of me. However, I seek comfort in the grace and comfort of The Atonement of Jesus Christ. As Tyler said in his email, I couldn´t survive my mission without the Atonement. Or my life. Or today. I would lose hope.

Our lives are hard. Imagine how hard life must be who DON´T have the hope of the Atonement of Jesus Christ; those who DON´T have the fullness of the restored gospel.

I really know that He is here in our daily lives and that we need to seek Him in every moment.

I love everyone!

Don´t forget to be happy. No matter how hard life gets, we can always get up.

Field

Overlooking City

Questions and Comments Here

