Uma Outra Transferência

My email my be a little short since I spent most of the time sending some pictures.

So, Elder Mesquita and I….. stayed together. Hallelujah.
We´re really grateful for that.

It sounds like Mom and Dad and Lacey and Adelaide and Michael and Grandma had a perfect week in Washington. Salmon, camping, walks to the beach, sunsets, blackberries, family, it doesn´t really get much better. Also, I love how when we are sensitive to the spirit we will be guided in things that seem so small and simple. Things that might not seem important to the rest of the world but are testimonies to us that God cares about our daily lives.

Mom, my package has not arrived yet. Maybe next week. Everyone said about 6 to 8 weeks, so it could still be a few weeks away.

This week was good.

We have a recent convert, Lucivaldo, who has two children, 11 and 9. He has been reluctant to allow his children to be baptized because they don´t have the same knowledge and conviction he had when he was baptized. Also, he leaves his house for work 5 AM everyday and gets home 11 at night from school, so it´s hard to teach him and his kids.
However, we brought our awesome bishop with us to a lesson with him on Sunday. Lucivaldo had received the priesthood two weeks before, and the bishop was inspired in our visit to teach him how to perform the baptismal ordinance with his children. Nothing could have been better for Lucivaldo. Now he is excited to baptize his children on September 14th and his kids will having the saving blessings of the gospel.

We had a lot of other great things happen this week as well as a lot of other not-so-great things, but miracle will happen, families will be united, and the gospel will continue to come forth to the world. It´s God´s plan. And we have the opportunity to be part of it.

Oh. P.S. I have to recount the strange things that happened to me this week.
First, we were walking down the street and a drunk guy yelled, “Alemão!”, bowed to me, kissed my hand, and ran away ( “Alemão” means “German”. They think all Americans are Germans who speak English).
Second, I ate pig foot. It´s not that good. It´s not horrible, it´s just not worth eating.
Third, I ate cow stomach. Again, not horrible, just not worth eating. It tastes like really really cheap ramen, which doesn´t make me feel very much better about cheap ramen.

I don´t remember which photos I have already sent, but I will just start sending some.

1. Elder Hoffmann and I with a recent convert the night before we were transferred.
SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

2.Left to right: Elder Severiche, Elder Mesquita, Elder Maynard, and me
SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

3. One of many doors here that is shorter than me. Yes, I know I needed a haircut in this picture.
SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

4. In the house of an awesome recent-convert, Bruna.
SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

5. A baptismal symbol we found carved into the sidewalk.
SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

6. Elder Mesquita and I with our fake missionary technology. A recent-convert works at a samsung store and had mock phones and tablets.
SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

7. MORE pizza… this time dessert with chocolate and strawberries. Not as good as it looks. This was in exchanges.
SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

8.EVEN MORE PIZZA. This is starting to look ridiculous. But it´s also evidence that I´m eating.
SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

9. We went to teach an investigator for the first time and she surprised us with a banquet. We surprised her with The Restoration (because she wasn´t expecting it to be true).
…Sorry, Elder Kyle didn’t attach the photo….

10. Again, Elder Mesquita and I with pizza.
SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

11. The racetrack Interlagos. Or part of it. This was a panorama, but the panorama disappeared so I just have the segments now.
SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

12. I saw this in our area and my mind was blown because it was the first time I had seen nature since I got to Brasil. Beauty exists in São Paulo. I just had to really selectively take this picture to find it. Also, I ate what appeared to be a blackberry off of a bush. Elder Mesquita said it was edible.
SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

13. Elder Mesquita and I at BURGER KING, the only place in Brasil with free refills.
SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

14. Our TINY and SHRINKING zone (all the sisters were sent to other areas).
SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

15. Elder Mesquita and I saw this near the mission office today.
SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

16. Also, an picture with Elder Hoffmann in Jardim Angela that demonstrates a little bit what our area was like. Just stairs forever.
SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

Questions and Comments Here

