End of ANOTHER Transfer!

I can’t believe my second transfer in Long Beach is already over. Just yesterday was my four month mark since I left home. CRAZY. Not to the mention the fact that I am getting transferred! ALL of the visa waiters are going to be in a trio with another visa waiter so that we can actually have effective language studies. That is seriously an answer to prayers, because my Portuguese is definitely faltering. I will be getting transferred out of downtown Long Beach to an area called Cypress. Cypress is a middle class area where the church is stinking strong! The ward boundaries are seriously tiny. Almost Utah tiny. I have heard only good things about Cypress and my new companions. I am really excited. I’m going to miss downtown a lot, but I’m ready to stop seeing so much violence and outright wickedness everyday in front of me.

This week flew by. We spent a lot of time at the mission office. We went to get our car fixed and instead of taking one hour like they said, it took 9 hours! We literally spent all day there. It was terrible not working all day, but we managed to get a lot done even though we weren’t having actual lessons. On Saturday, a girl named Sarah got baptized. She got baptized at 9:00 AM. I love morning baptisms! All good things happen in the morning, I swear. She is the one I talked about a month or so ago that thought she knew Kimmie. Her records were lost and, to make a long story short, she needed to be re-baptized, which is pretty darn unusual. She is awesome! We are working on getting her to go to the singles’ ward, which would be way better for her.

When I email next week, I will have a whole new set of stories. Cypress and downtown Long Beach are polar opposites.

One thing I have seen recently is the entire church getting involved in missionary work, old and young, rich and poor, EVERYONE is becoming and needs to be completely engaged in the work of salvation. The stories from our family alone are inspiring. Full-time missionaries are just a tool in missionary work.

HAPPY BIRTHDAY DAVID AND MARIA!!!

PICTURES!!!

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

The first picture is Bishop Solomon and his wife. I LOVE them. I’m going to miss them so much.

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

The second picture is the first counselor, Brother Rome, and his wife. They are the quirkiest couple ever. She is from Korea and he has a super thick Georgian accent.

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

The third and fourth picture is Valleri, who should be getting baptized Thanksgiving weekend.

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

The fifth picture is Gerard and Sarah. They live at the same apartment complex and Sarah just got baptized this weekend. Gerard was baptized a month or so ago.

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

The last few pictures are just of a sweet apartment complex next to our apartment that used to be a masonic temple. They did a really good job of combining modern loft-style apartments with historical architecture. That is just the architect in me geeking out.

One thought on “End of ANOTHER Transfer!

Questions and Comments Here

